SEP - Components

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Email


There are five main levels of the SEPSM framework. They are:

  • Business Outcomes: SEP lays out measurable CXO level goals for an enterprise-level process, which address what the process is meant to achieve at an organizational level. The prioritization of these outcomes happen basis relevance to the client and the business context.
  • Process Schema: SEP maps out detailed end-to-end view of a business process across the entire breadth and depth of the sub-processes with their performance measures, business impact and expected outcomes. For each sub-process, the level 3 activities of the corresponding metrics and drivers are linked. This compares the client’s existing process to the schema and identifies the causes of gaps and ideas for recommending improvements for each performance measure and driver.


  • Metric Drill Down Tree (MDDT) and Benchmarks: MDDT establishes the linkages between the overall Business Outcomes and the level 2/level 3 metrics and drivers. These benchmarks are used to compare the process performance and metrics against industry standards. At each level in the process framework, SEP measures metrics at the granular level. It maps the client’s performance at every step of the process, measuring against best-in-class standards and providing a clear road map on how to become the best-in-class.


  • Best Practices & Insights: For each process step, a compendium of leading practices across industry verticals are leveraged—to assess the process maturity and resolve gaps. These process insights and best practices 'must-be' and 'should-be' followed to reach the optimum performance level.
  • Implementation Road map and Execution: Through this approach, we carefully identify and implement our methodology offering solutions including Process, Analytics, Re-engineering and focused IT based on achieving business impact.

Genpact, its logo and “SEP” are service marks of Genpact Limited.